

PRESS RELEASE

January 2007

CONTACT:Judy Dixon, Chairperson
Braille Authority of North AmericaPHONE:1-202-707-0722E-MAIL:jdix@loc.gov

BANA Holds Meeting, Elects New Officers

The Braille Authority of North America (BANA) met October 20-22, 2006, in Washington DC. The meeting was hosted by the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped of the Library of Congress, a member organization of BANA.

Members reviewed reports from the numerous BANA technical committees, including the Literary Committee, which is currently working on a new edition of *English Braille, American Edition*; the Tactile Graphics Committee finalizing guidelines for the production of tactile graphics; and the Braille Formats Committee, which is working on a revised edition of *Braille Formats: Principles of Print to Braille Transcription*. These three projects are all very large projects that the expert committees have been working on for several years. BANA also established a committee to develop transcription guidelines for the production of craft and hobby materials such as knitting and crochet patterns, chess materials, latch hook rug instructions, and other types of instructional items where no specific code exists to guide transcribers. This committee will be chaired by Marcy Ponzio of the Braille Institute of America. Kim Charlson, who has served as chair of BANA for the past three years will conclude her term of office at the end of 2006, but will continue representing the American Council of the Blind on the BANA Board.

Newly elected officers are:

Judith (Judy) Dixon, Chairperson

Judith Dixon is the Consumer Relations Officer at the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped of the Library of Congress. She has written and spoken extensively in the area of braille; is the creator and manager for NLS's Web-Braille service; and has been a lifelong reader of braille and a tireless advocate for braille literacy.

Eileen Curran, Vice-Chairperson

Eileen Curran is Vice President for Education Services at National Braille Press, where she has worked since 1985. She served as the chair of BANA from 2000 to 2003, and is currently treasurer of the International Council on English Braille. Passionate about braille, Eileen has been an instructor of teachers of the blind at Boston College, and previously taught braille at Perkins School for the Blind and in public school classes. Ms. Curran is the author of a braille primer for parents entitled *Just Enough to Know Better*, now in its tenth edition.

Jennifer Dunnam, Secretary

Jennifer Dunnam (Minneapolis, MN) is the Manager of Braille Programs for the National Federation of the Blind's Jernigan Institute, administering the courses for persons seeking certification in braille transcribing and proofreading from the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped. Previously, she was the Manager of Access Programs in Disability Services at the University of Minnesota, overseeing braille production at the University. She is the author of *The Slate Book: A Guide to the Slate and Stylus* and serves on the board of the National Association to Promote the Use of Braille.

Mary Archer, Treasurer

Mary Archer is the Supervisor of the Braille Section at Minnesota State Services for the Blind, managing the braille production facility for the State of Minnesota. The Braille Section provides materials to students in kindergarten through twelfth grade. She is also the current president of the National Braille Association, Inc. In addition, she has previously served BANA as secretary and vice-chair. She is a certified literary and Nemeth Code braille transcriber.

The mission and purpose of the Braille Authority of North America are to assure literacy for tactile readers through the standardization of braille and/or tactile graphics. BANA promotes and facilitates the use, teaching and production of braille. It publishes rules, interprets and renders opinions pertaining to braille in all existing codes. It deals with codes now in existence or to be developed in the future, in collaboration with other countries using English braille. In exercising its function and authority, BANA considers the effects of its decisions on other existing braille codes and formats; the ease of production by various methods; and acceptability to readers.

Braille Authority of North America

January 2007

| Representative | Organization |
|-----------------------|---|
| Kim Charlson | American Council of the Blind |
| Frances Mary D'Andrea | American Foundation for the Blind |
| Betsy Burnham | American Printing House for the Blind |
| May Davis | Associated Services for the Blind |
| Diane Wormsley | Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired |
| Bonnie Grimm | Braille Institute of America |
| Sue Reilly | California Transcribers and Educators of the Visually Handicapped |
| Darleen Bogart | CNIB (The Canadian National Institute for the Blind) |
| Pam Boss | The Clovernook Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired |
| Eileen Curran | National Braille Press |
| Judy Dixon | National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped |
| Mary Archer | National Braille Association |
| 5 | |
| Jennifer Dunnam | National Federation of the Blind |
| Maria Stevens | Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind, Associate Member |
| | Royal row Zealand Foundation of the Dillid, Associate Melliber |

BANA Technical Committees

Ad Hoc Committee on Braille Research

Frances Mary D'Andrea, Co-chair Diane Wormsley, Co-chair Darleen Bogart Eileen Curran Judy Dixon Cay Holbrook Rob Wall-Emerson Robin Wetzel

Ad Hoc Committee on Early Literacy Materials Production

Betsy Burnham, Chairperson Diane Wormsley, Board Liaison Susan Christensen Warren Figueiredo Ann Kelt Ann MacCuspie Edie Mourre

Ad Hoc Committee on Foreign Language Materials

Ann Kelt, Chairperson Eileen Curran, Board Liaison Marilyn Breedlove Jill Cooter Lisa McClure

Braille Formats Technical Committee

Lynette Taylor, Chairperson Kim Charlson, Board Liaison Deborah Brown Susan Christensen Debbie Gillespie Sandy Smith Ann Kelt Mary Czepyha, Consultant Dena Garrett, Consultant

Computer Braille Technical Committee

Melissa Hirshson, Chairperson May Davis, Board Liaison John Jackson Sandra Ruconich Joseph Sullivan Betty Teachman

Crafts and Hobbies Technical Committee

Marcy Ponzio, Chairperson Eileen Curran, Board Liaison Lorraine Banks Gilbert Busch Melissa Hirshson Gail Snider Yvette Pourciau, Consultant

Literary Braille Technical Committee

Martha Pamperin, Chairperson Darleen Bogart, Board Liaison Nancy Barker Anna Lee Braunstein Joseph Sullivan John Wilkinson Julia Moyer Tom Keith, Consultant

Mathematics Braille Technical Committee

Dorothy Worthington, Chairperson Mary Archer, Board Liaison Helen McMillan Allison O'Day Susan Osterhaus Jean Simpson Joanne Baldwin, Consultant Mary Denault, Consultant

Music Braille Technical Committee

Lawrence Smith, Chairperson Jennifer Dunnam, Board Liaison Karin Auckenthaler Beverly McKenney Harvey Miller Tom Ridgeway Karen Gearreald, Consultant

Publications Committee

Susan Christensen, Chairperson Judy Dixon, Board Liaison Bob Brasher Warren Figueiredo Sandy Smith Joanna E. Venneri

Refreshable Braille Technical Committee

Caryn Navy, Chairperson Judy Dixon, Board Liaison Eric Guillory Mary Beth Metzger Sharon Monthei Graham Stoodley

Tactile Graphics Technical Committee

Lucia Hasty, Chairperson Jennifer Dunnam, Board Liaison Constance Craig John McConnell Allison O'Day Diane Spence Susan Osterhaus, Consultant